1) Are you satisfied with your current projects, or are you feeling unchallenged?
          I used to be dissatisfied with my current projects. They were always the academic papers to be written, and occasionally the creative writing piece. However, I never really felt challenged by the actual writing. I only felt challenged to get the items done on time.
          That being said, I always feel more challenged by projects that I work on during my free time. They require much more thought than the ones that are assigned to me, because I feel as if I have more of an obligation to myself to see them succeed. I also have more of a desire to see them succeed, so I work much harder and challenge myself to work harder so that I can have something to be proud of.
2) Where do you see yourself a year or two from now?
          In a year or two from now, I would ideally see myself as an acquisitions editor at a prestigious publishing company in New York City or London. Realistically, I see myself looking for a job while living with my parents. Probably settling for a job in customer service. 
3) What are your long-term career goals?
          I really want to be an acquisitions editor. My dream job is to be able to read things all day, every day. I want to say that I was able to read the "next Harry Potter" before everyone else.
4) Which books, articles, and blogs will help you branch into new territory?
           I do not know what articles or blogs will help, but I know that by reading different genres will help me be open to going to different publishers in an attempt to find a job.
5) Who do you know who may be able to offer you advice on making a transition?
           I have gotten some advice in regards to entering the publishing world from Lucy Christopher, the author of Stolen and Flyaway. I took this advice to heart, because Ms. Christopher has written a novel that had similarities with some of the short stories I've written. I have her on any social networking sites, and I am sure I can contact her for more advice. I also know a few smaller authors, Sadie Montgomery and Michelle Gliottoni Rodriguez. I've talked to themon a few occasions, and I know they would be more than willing to give me advice. 



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Jennifer Dulo. Senior Writing Arts and English major. Proud mother to a kitty named Murmur and a fish named Loki.